Assemblymember Evan Low Elected to Serve as Chair; Senator Ricardo Lara Elected to Serve as Vice Chair of the CA Legislative LGBT Caucus

January 11, 2017


SACRAMENTO, CA – Today, the California Legislative Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender (LGBT) Caucus elected Assemblymember Evan Low (D-Silicon Valley) to serve as Chair and Senator Ricardo Lara (D- Bell Gardens) to serve as Vice Chair.

“I am honored that my colleagues have elected me as the next LGBT Caucus Chair and I thank Assemblymember Eggman for her leadership,” said Assemblymember Evan Low. “We have a historically high number of 8 members and over the past decades, we have made incredible advances in the fight for equality – from securing same-sex marriage, to increasing advocacy for and visibility of transgender rights, to strengthening our laws and protections in the areas of health care, education, and poverty alleviation. However, this past election serves as a reminder that much more work remains to be done. My colleagues and I are committed to doing everything in our power to ensure California remains a leader in advancing LGBT civil rights protections throughout our State and the nation.”

“Congratulations to Asm. Evan Low on his ascension to lead our LGBT Caucus and becoming our first API legislator to hold this important post,” said Senator Ricardo Lara. “I look forward to supporting his leadership during the upcoming session. Our LGBT community is at a crossroads and stakes cannot be higher. More than ever, we must unite to protect our accomplishments and remain resolute in our fight for equality, inclusion, and respect.”

"Assemblymember Low has been at the forefront of groundbreaking legislation that advances equality and social justice and improves the lives of LGBT people," said EQCA Executive Director Rick Zbur. "We are delighted to work with him in this new role to continue to advance equality for the LGBT community. We are equally delighted to continue working with Senator Ricardo Lara as Vice Chair. We thank Assemblymember Eggman for her leadership of the LGBT Caucus and hard work on behalf of our community."

Originally formed in 2002, the Caucus serves as a forum for the California Legislature to discuss issues that affect LGBT Californians and to further the goal of equality and justice for all residents in the State. Comprising both Senators and Assemblymembers, current Caucus members include: Chair Evan Low, Vice Chair Ricardo Lara, Senators Toni G. Atkins, Cathleen Galgiani, and Scott Wiener, and Assemblymembers Susan Talamantes Eggman, Sabrina Cervantes, and Todd Gloria. The Caucus’ formation made California the first state in the country to recognize an official caucus of openly-LGBT state legislators.